Farewell, Coug fans

Two years ago, then-rookie sports editor Matt Baney’s first hire could have been someone else.

It could have been somebody with years of experience at a decent-sized shop or someone who went to a top-notch journalism school. Hell, Baney could have gone with someone with all the above when resumes filled his inbox.

Instead he hired me.

I came from a small daily newspaper and journalism was never my major, but my passion and willingness to improve stood out to him — I’ll always be thankful for that.

But now I’m ready for a new chapter.

From Washington State University coverage all the way down to the White Pine League, I’ll miss the coaches and athletes I interacted with daily. Some people get into this business to have a byline and to be around sports. I’m bigger on relationships.

As for as the Tribune, it was a great place to work. Not a bad soul in the building, really.  Baney, legendary scribe Dale Grummert and do-everything Brian Beasley taught me more than they’ll ever know.

It’s been real, folks. Thanks for the great experience.

This entry was posted in Commentary, NBA Draft. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

